Home » children » The Prodigy: Charlie Who Killed Rave (Part 2)

The Prodigy: Charlie Who Killed Rave (Part 2)

children : The Prodigy: Charlie Who Killed Rave (Part 2)
Firestarter - 1996 composition

Firestarter, in which pure techno mixed with Keith Flint's vocals, has already let know what the taste of the next album will be. This composition was played on radio stations literally hundreds of times during the day.

The released clip caused a strange reaction from the parents: it had neither sex, nor violence, nor cruelty, but it caused quiet horror among the parents. Because the clip really turned out crazy. Kit Flint so radically changed his image that he evoked close attention and even admiration. So, before that, he was just a dancer, and now he even began to bear the intellectual load on the stage. He became a singer, and Prodigy from a banal rave team turned into something much more exciting and interesting.

Flint suddenly became the face of the team, and very recognizable. Although, as you say, this is more a matter of the newly formed bald head, which he arranged in the manner of a clown from horror films. Moreover, apparently, it was such an image that was originally conceived, and he managed to realize it one hundred percent.

You could even say that it’s not the opposite, but precisely because of this image, more than 750, 000 copies of this clip were sold within the first six weeks.

Why not? No self-respecting commercial musician can act like Keith Flint. Do you remember Mr. Bean? He is also with charisma, but good charisma. And Flint acquired the charisma poisonous, evil and cynical. He danced with such grimaces and gestures, built his own hairstyle so that it began to introduce a slight degree of shudder in a mixture with admiration. Because it was a secret call of the subconscious, the desire at some point to become a brilliant nerd and allow yourself something that you would not allow in your own nightmare.

Therefore, when Prodigy recorded the soundtrack for the porn film, it was not so much stunning as expected. Because only someone who is not shy and not afraid not only of his own genitals, but also of his own latent desire to commit a completely idiotic act can be so relaxed. Why not? Flint's phenomenon was that his character was hopelessly uninhibited. Exactly what the audience and the audience lacked so much. The group has become a universe in itself.

But in the USA they simply could not be appreciated. The fact is that Prodigy is not just a musical, but also a dance group, and in the United States this has not happened. But, by the way, there are still plenty of fans of the group there. Firestarter there sold perfectly. So, America also needed a touch of insanity, like all mentally healthy people.

“Music of the lost generation” from the phenomenon of the world of dance music smoothly moved to the territory of heavy electronic rock.

The content of the article

  • Baby's got a temper
  • Always Outnumbered, Never Outgunned
  • Their Law: The Singles 1990-2005
  • Invaders must die
    • Discography

Baby's got a temper

Baby's Got a Temper, which was released as a single, caused quite mixed reactions. Fans very much approved her, and Liam himself silently disowned her. Only later did it become known that he really had nothing to do with the recording - the composition was recorded by the Flint band.

Always Outnumbered, Never Outgunned

As a result, Flint's vocals are completely absent from the next album Always Outnumbered, Never Outgunned. By the way, Always Outnumbered, Never Outgunned became the fourth studio album of the group, and a lot of musicians participated in its recording. Spitfire, which was also one of the album's singles, was additionally accelerated on the single, which gave the track even more expression.

Flint appeared only on the next album. Leroy left four years ago. It turns out that Always Outnumbered, Never Outgunned is closest to the solo work of the electronic composer.

Their Law: The Singles 1990-2005

Their Law: The Singles 1990-2005 is a collection of singles, one might say, a collection of hits released on one disc, several remixed, peppered and prepared.

So, just four albums in fifteen years? So what have they been doing all this time? They performed. The first concert tour did not suit them, and then they seemed to play catch-up with common sense. And they simply performed grandly on stage - while other electronic groups experienced enormous difficulties with this.

At first, magazines and critics doubted whether the guys sang live. Well, it’s impossible to move and sing so vigorously without shortness of breath. In addition, some managed to insult the whole group with statements that the sound quality during the production was far from the best.

But they performed, performed very much and very often. They managed to perform wherever they could: in Russia, in Germany, Poland, Iceland, the USA, and of course in the UK.

Liam is nevertheless a keyboard player with a classical education - parents insisted in due time. And with all the ensuing consequences.

The next album justified the expectation of the fans.

Invaders must die

Accompanied by the single Omen, Invaders Must Die was on top as always. What else to expect from Prodigy, if not the continuation of the old “good” electronic music, which was the embodiment of a dance cut with an admixture of hellish hedonism and other joys of life?

There’s nothing really to say. They began to turn to the group for music as an eminent brand, from which you can get a lot of pleasure, memories for life and feelings of an alternative universe, into which you can enter and stay as long as you like.


Studio albums

  • Experience (September 21, 1992)
  • Music for the Jilted Generation (July 4, 1994)
  • The Fat of the Land (June 30, 1997)
  • Always Outnumbered, Never Outgunned (August 23, 2004)
  • Invaders Must Die (February 23, 2009)
  • Name unknown (second half of 2012)

Live albums

  • World's on Fire (May 23, 2011)
  • Video albums
  • Electronic Punks (October 15, 1996)

Mini Albums (EP)

  • What Evil Lurks (February 1991)
  • Baby's Got A Temper (July 1, 2002)
  • Lost Beats (February 2009)
  • Invaders Must Die (EP) (November 30, 2009)


  • The Dirtchamber Sessions Volume One (February 22, 1999)
  • Their Law: The Singles 1990-2005 (October 17, 2005)
  • Back to Mine Liam, (February 21, 2006)


  • Charly (August 12, 1991)
  • "Everybody in the Place" (December 20, 1991)
  • Fire / Jericho (September 7, 1992)
  • Out of Space (November 9, 1992)
  • "Wind It Up (Rewound)" (March 29, 1993)
  • One Love (October 4, 1993)
  • "No Good (Start the Dance)" (May 16, 1994)
  • Voodoo People (November 7, 1994)
  • Poison (March 6, 1995)
  • Firestarter (March 18, 1996)
  • Breathe (November 11, 1996)
  • "Smack My Bitch Up" (November 17, 1997)
  • Girls (August 30, 2004)
  • Hotride (November 1, 2004)
  • Spitfire (April 11, 2005)
  • Voodoo People (Pendulum Remix) (October 3, 2005)
  • Omen (February 16, 2009)
  • Warrior's Dance (May 11, 2009)
  • Take Me To The Hospital (August 31, 2009)

Remixes / Revolutions

  • Dream Frequency - Take me
  • The Time Frequency - Retribution
  • Baby D - Casanova
  • Art of Noise - Instruments of Darkness
  • Front 242 - Religion
  • Jesus Jones - Zeroes and Ones
  • Method Man - Release Yo 'Self
  • Oasis - Falling Down
  • Ian Brown - Just Like You
  • Jay-Z - 99 Problems
  • South Central - The Day I Die
  • Pendulum - Immunize (feat. Liam Howlett)
  • Foo Fighters - White Limo
  • Plan B - ill Manors
Leave Your Comment